What Would You Be Left With?

Not long ago, a dear friend posed the following question to me:

What would you have today if you were only left with the things you had given thanks for the day before?

That stopped me dead in my tracks. What would I be left with? Thinking back to the previous day, it dawned on me that I would be left with nothing.

Not my health.

Not my home.

Not my job.

Not my family and friends.

Nothing.

Think about it. What would you be left with? What were thankful for yesterday? Anything? If you’re being honest with yourself, probably nothing, or at the very least, very little.

Maybe it’s the result of living in first world countries. We have more than we could ever need – more than most people even dream of. But we take it for granted because it’s always been there, and we assume, it always will be. So, rather than taking stock of the ridiculous amounts of opportunities, money and luxuries at our fingertips, we’re consumed with what we don’t have and what we still need.

We complain about the traffic. We complain about our jobs. We complain about our leaders. We complain that the baseball game was rained out, that the contractor’s quote for remodeling the rec room was too high, that our service at a restaurant was sub-par, that our kids have too much homework, that our annual trip to Disney World will have to be cancelled because it interferes with the in-laws visiting.

Do we ever stop to think about how ridiculous we sound?

Do we ever stop to think about what we have to be thankful for?

It’s easy to complain. It’s harder to take stock of your life and be grateful.

If you were to make a list of all the things you gave thanks for the day before, my guess is there would be maybe a half dozen items on the list. But if you were to write down everything there is to be thankful for? You’d probably have a list of 50 to 60 items.

Make a list of all you have to be thankful for. And then tell me, based on that list, what would you have today if you were only left with the things you gave thanks for yesterday.

10 thoughts on “What Would You Be Left With?

  1. OLED PHAT nu glee says:

    If I’d known I could get rid of things simply by not expressing thanks for them I would not have expressed thanks for a couple of super annoying folks I know yesterday… 😉 I may live in a first world country but my early childhood was spent on the third world side of it. I didn’t always have the basics of life and I know that they can be taken at any time. I hold on loosely and appreciate what I have, the good, and yes, even the bad. Attitude of Gratitude is part of my wake up, my lying down to sleep and my walking about.

    Like

  2. mamalisa4 says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more on this whole gratitude thing!!! I have a journal dedicated to gratitude. I write in it several times a week and I include my toothbrush to my truck to a cozy pair of socks. I even sometimes write down things that haven’t happened yet – hoping to will it into fruition 🙂 Great message!!! 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

Whatcha Thinkin'?

