Crabby Ms. Evans

For the first time in a very, very long time, I literally (in this context, we’re using the British pronunciation of the word…) feel like doing nothing.

And by nothing, I mean that staring at a wall in silence seems like it would be a little too much to undertake at this point in time.

I never feel like doing nothing. I always have to be doing something. And now?

Nope. Nothing. Not a single solitary thing do I feel like doing.

The 3rd graders I had today pushed every one of my buttons… and then a couple I didn’t even know existed.

They were belligerent, disrespectful, and waaaaaaaaay out of line.

They refused to listen, threw things when they didn’t get their way, mimicked and mocked any adult that dared to call them on their behavior, told bald-faced lies and then cried and threw complete temper tantrums when privileges were revoked.

I’m not the kind of teacher that typically yells, but by the end of the day, you bet your ass I was yelling. By that point, I was no longer taking the diplomatic approach of pulling the student aside and talking to them calmly about their behavior. Nope. When it got to the point of infraction after infraction after FREAKIN’ INFRACTION by the same students, I just used my noisy, angry, “you have GOT to be kidding me with this” teacher voice to tell them in no uncertain terms that they “Need to fix it NOW otherwise you can have a long chat with the principal”. I was flipping cards left and right. They were losing privileges left and right. By the time the buses came, I was like, “Go. Leave. I’m done.”

I HATE being that teacher. Especially when there were some kids who were REALLY on  top of it today. They were following directions. They were being respectful. They were doing what they were supposed to be doing. And yet, they were forced to sit through all my lectures and reprimands. And yes, I made sure the kids who were doing their jobs got extra privileges and kudos from me, but I just felt horrible that a half dozen kids could ruin the day for everyone involved.

*sigh*

So, if you don’t mind, I’m spending the rest of my evening stress-eating and staring off into space.

Kids these days…

8 thoughts on “Crabby Ms. Evans

  1. Rookienotes says:

    When I taught last year I hated when the students didn’t listen. I work with college students now, much better. And i’m reading your posts and there was one about work-dreams and I hate them!!!! I had three in the last two weeks. Granted it’s application processing time in my office, but it makes me freak out. I would put this comment on your other post but my internet is moving too slowly. Argh. And i am growing impatient. But loved the posts <3.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Annie Emmy Evans says:

      Haha! I know what you mean. My internet has been slow too and then it takes FOREVER to get through all my blog reading. So. Annoying. And work dreams are the WORST! You wake up feeling like you never got off work and have to go right back. Ew.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. shopgirlanonymous says:

    I’ve had these days. Actually once when I was teaching I had a child that I threatened with a trip to the principle and he jumped out of his desk and towered over me screaming in my face. I’m not one to be pushed around so I definitely screamed back. Classmates were holding him off of me as a coach just passing by the room dove in and dragged the boy from my classroom…it was insane.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Josh Wrenn says:

    Have some chocolate (if you like it), close your eyes, and breathe. And on behalf of someone who remembers being one of the kids who wanted to learn, but was surrounded by too many that didn’t…I thank you for your actions.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. mamalisa4 says:

    seriously sometimes you just need to do nothing – I believe thats called meditating and its trending. So you are meditating. Yup. That is something, (even though its nothing) 😉
    I think that all of the children of the world must have signed a petition to participate in asshole week. I am sorry that you had to work during such week – teachers should have off for this “holiday”. My kids are being assholes for asshole week. I hope its over soon. Hang in there and do nothing . .um I mean meditate. I will meditate too. Come and get me when its over.
    https://mamalisa4.wordpress.com/2015/03/25/my-ass-hurts/

    Liked by 1 person

Whatcha Thinkin'?

