Dorks will be offended by this post. Consider yourselves warned.

The other day, while out for coffee, my friend uttered a sentence that should never have been uttered.

“Ooh! The new Hobbit movie is coming out on DVD!”

I think the look I shot her was akin to the following:

Um… What?

Just… NO.

What about my personality suggests I would have any interest what-so-ever in the new Hobbit movie?

I then told her I had only seen the first Hobbit movie, and I only went because it procured me a bag of buttered popcorn. I even slept through a good portion of it.

To which she responded with an excited, “Oh! Did you see it with your brother?”

Um… no. Because my brother is awesome and not a complete and utter dork.

It’s possible that I hate all sci-fi and fantasy more than I hate both awkward conversational transitions and bar soap. So… basically, my hatred for all types of sci-fi and fantasy is so intense that it results in physical manifestations. Like… shaking uncontrollably, screaming obscenities, and throwing any and all items in the immediate vicinity. (Occasionally, I spew vomit and my head rotates a full 360 degrees, but hopefully my handlers have managed to calm me down before I get to that point.)

I literally can’t stand it. Sci-Fi and fantasy are loved by dorks around the world. Me? I abhor it. And by abhor, I mean I wish to abolish it from the face of the earth so it can no longer plague our fair society with its rubbish.

Lord of the Rings. (Seen all three. Hated all three. Poked an eye out for each one I had to watch, and then ran out of eyes so I shot myself in the foot instead. I am now blind and feeble thanks to those stupid movies.) The Hobbit. (See above.) Star Wars. (I tried to watch one once. I got 15 minutes into it and fled the room in tears because it was THAT STUPID.) Star Trek. (Couldn’t watch the originals, and only got through half of the remake before shooting myself in the other foot.) LARPing. Comic-Con. Cosplay. Any and all RENAISSANCE FAIRS.

Something about watching actors tromp around on film in costume and pretend to be other-worldly beings enrages me. Watching otherwise normal adults play dress-up themselves and pretend to other-worldly beings also enrages me. Why I can’t just shrug it off and be like, “That’s cool” is a wonder to me. It just drives me crazy. We are grown-ass adults, people! Are we not past the “dress up and play pretend” phase???

The thing is… I don’t have a problem with dorks in general. We’re all dorks about certain things. Take me, for instance. I’m a total book dork. Dorks are awesome. I’m pretty sure it says somewhere in the Bible that dorks shall inherit the earth. I mean, if it weren’t for dorks, we wouldn’t be as technologically advanced as we are today. Dorks kind of run the world. But when that dorkiness seeps over into sci-fi and fantasty? No. Not acceptable. Basically, you lose all your credibility as a dork, and you just become a weirdo in my mind. (I’m sorry… that was harsh. I still love you. You are allowed to love as many LOTR and Hobbit and Star-type-thingys as you want. But I cannot and will not condone the behavior.) The problem is… all of my friends are dorks. Which, because of numbers alone, makes them normal and me the outcast. And it’s not as much fun to mock the rest of the group when you’re the outcast of the group. *sigh* Such is my life. I literally can’t escape the dorkiness… it’s all around me… and it’s making me crazy.

Certainly, I can’t be the only one who feels this way. Or maybe I am. Maybe I just enraged all the dorks of the world to such an extent that they now feel the same way about me as I do about their hobbies…

Sorry, dorks.

You’ll get over it.

Gif Sources: www.tumblr.com, imgur.com, fuckyeahreactionface.tumblr.com
24 thoughts on “Dorks will be offended by this post. Consider yourselves warned.

  1. VixyQ says:

    I find most normal movies and books predictable. I am a self confessed sci-fi/fantasy dork/nerd/weirdo. I find it’s nice to escape from reality and experience a world where magic exists. My inner child basically never grew up! I like the rantiness of your post though!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jana says:

    *Shakes head in sadness and disbelief* Oh, Annie โ€“ Iโ€™m afraid we canโ€™t be besties anymore. Unless you like any other type of movie (except horror โ€“ I canโ€™t do horror) โ€“ and then we can go see them instead.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Josh Wrenn says:

    I don’t hate the sci-fi and fantasy quite as much as you, but I will give you the LOTR movies were awful! I hear the books are actually quite good, but I haven’t read them yet. I like sci-fi if it has good political commentary, dystopian sci-fi is my favorite.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Doug Daniel says:

    Wow. Not sure there’s anything to say. You’re entitled to your opinions and tastes. I think you’re missing out on some good stuff, but that’s just my opinion.

    One suggestion– you might want to re-think how you’re using the word “dork”. Some folks might think you look down on people like H. G. Wells, Jules Verne, Robert Heinlein, Octavia Butler, Ursula Le Guin, etc, etc.. I’m sure you don’t want to give that impression….

    Like

Whatcha Thinkin'?

