MER. Life is hard.

Yeah. You heard right.

MER.

“Mer” is the sound I make when I have absolutely no reason for feeling blah and depressed and harrible, but I still feel that way. So, all I can say is, “Mer.”

So…
Mer.
That is my life right now.
I keep having these mood swings. One minute, everything will be awesome and fantastic and good, and the next I’m all, “Mer. I’m bored. Life sucks. There’s nothing to do and no hope for humanity” And then I bury my face in Winston’s fur and make dying whale sounds.

It. Is. Awesome.

Hey! Here’s a question: Do you ever re-tweet things on Twitter that you quite frankly don’t give a good gosh darn about?

I do. I have no idea why. I think it makes me feel better… like I care, or something… when in reality? I don’t.

I mean, most of the stuff I retweet I whole-heartedly agree with and applaud like… support for wounded soldiers. Or… aid for persecuted peoples in 3rd world countries. Or… educational… things… that help with… educational stuff. Or… really funny headlines from the Onion.

But race coversations on coffee cups?

Mer.

Not so much.

But I keep retweeting those STUPID #RaceTogether tweets from Starbucks. Like… I’m inexplicably compelled to. I literally can’t stop myself.

Do I think it’s important to have an open and honest discussion about race? Sure. Do I need my coffee shop telling me when and where and how to do it? Not so much. JUST GIVE ME THE DANG COFFEE!

Ugh…

And here I am all retweeting stuff that I don’t care about. Why? I don’t know. Maybe because it makes me feel all progressive and cool. Even though it doesn’t.

Maybe I need a walk in my wellies.

Maybe I need to stop thinking about the fate that awaits me in that 1st grade classroom tomorrow. (Good God, someone put me out of my misery before I have to deal with those hoodlums.)

Maybe I need to get over myself and stop blogging about crap that doesn’t matter.

Yeah.

That.

Let’s do that.

*sigh*

4 thoughts on “MER. Life is hard.

  1. M_Elizabeth says:

    Oh my God, I just wrote about how I’ve been in a funk. I also feel very Mer. And I’ve been sighing a lot. I know not of these race relations coffee cups but when I can get up the energy to do something other than sigh and complain, I will do so. Until then, I’ve decided we are soul sisters. If that’s too much too soon, we can be soul third cousins. Ok, back to the grumps. Here’s to things lookin’ up!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Annie Emmy Evans says:

      Bwahahaha! I don’t know what my problem is… probably has something to do with being an over-privileged, white person, 1st world dweller. We get bored, so we complain. Sure. Let’s go with that. Also, I’m cool being soul sisters… because… well, duh… it’s true.

      Like

Whatcha Thinkin'?

