Celebrate Good Times… C’mon!

It’s St. Patrick’s Day, Peeps!

You know what that means, don’t you?

For a limited time, you too can be Irish!

WHA?

I KNOW!

It’s okay, that was my reaction too. It’s a special day for all of us.

To be honest, I’m not even sure I’m Irish. My grandmother was apparently “Scots-Irish” and would INSIST we all wear green on March 17th. She’d also send cute cards and little trinkets with sayings like “Luck o’ the Irish” and “Kiss Me, I’m Irish!” and “Irish Eyes are Smiling.” And then, when she died, my very Swedish grandfather took up the tradition. But then he died, and everyone started digging through our family history, and oh, the shock and horror to discover we might not be Irish after all.

WHA? Shut the front door!

I know. It was a devastating blow to the entire family…

Okay, not really. Except maybe my cousin Joe, who became hell-bent on insisting WE WERE NEVER IRISH – JUST SCOTTISH. SO EVERYONE STOP CELEBRATING ST. PATRICK’S DAY NOW AND FOREVER BECAUSE IT DOESN’T EVEN APPLY TO US.

He actually gets upset when family members wear green on March 17th. He’s very bothered about the whole “Irish” thing. In his mind, being Scottish is far superior to being Irish, and so we should spurn our “supposed” Irish heritage and be awesomely Scottish instead.

It’s… weird.

ANYhoodles… regardless, I am not only wearing green today, but I’m also…

Yeah. Nevermind. That’s pretty much all my celebration consists of. I suppose I could get some Guiness but I think we all know that’s not going to happen.

Fascinating tidbit: The holiday is more than an excuse for Americans to get rowdy and sloppy drunk. Here’s the biography of the actual man and why we celebrate this day. Plus, it’s a pretty big deal across the pond (obviously) so it’s kind of cool that the holiday has actual meaning behind it rather than merely an excuse to run some PSAs for designated drivers. (C’mon, America. Really?)

So… my point… and I do have one is…

Oh, screw it. There’s no point. Just… Happy St. Patrick’s Day, ya’ll!

(What? They TOTALLY play bagpipes in Ireland. Look it up.)

Gif Sources: http://makeawishtakeachancedreamadream.tumblr.com/post/29362584363/still-cant-get-over-gmak-being-reunited-all, fyeah-wizard-of-oz.tumblr.com, www.dose.ca
6 thoughts on “Celebrate Good Times… C’mon!

  1. shopgirlanonymous says:

    My grandmother was always very insistent that we are Scots-Irish as well, though she didn’t celebrate the fact, just spoke it proudly. 😉 Though other parts of the family just claim the Scots as well..it’s all very confusing at time…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mamalisa4 says:

    LOL Happy St Patricks Day you Scottish Bastard!!! JK LOL 🙂 I’m Italian – nothing else and I still go around today greeting everyone “top of the morning to ya” with my green shirt and kiss me i’m Irish pin. Anything good that happens today is blamed on the Luck of the Irish and I will pick up my corn beef n cabbage from my mother in law later. Afterwards I will do a celebratory jig to show my happiness!! 🙂 Tell your cousin to relax and get him an Irish artifact for Christmas!! LOL I love the Friends skit – the out takes are the best!! We are all Irish for a day!! Happy St Patty!!!!! Drink some green beer and be merry!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Whatcha Thinkin'?

