The Following Makes Me Sound Like a Horrible Person…

Back in your school days, did you have one particular teacher you just… hated? As in, couldn’t stand? Abhorred? Disliked with the rage of a thousand burning hell fires?

Yeah. Me too.

So, it was particularly satisfying yesterday when the 5th graders begged me to come back the following day to avoid another day with the substitute they hated… and that sub turned out to be the exact same teacher I hated in elementary school.

It took all of my self-control to smile kindly and say, “Oh! Mr./Mrs. So and So? I had him/her… I really liked him/her. He/She was always really nice…” When inside I was secretly screaming, “Oh, I KNOW! Isn’t he/she the most harrible person you’ve ever met? Does he/she still give out *bleep* tons of homework, and treat you with a syrupy sweet condescension while secretly making mental notes of all your shortcomings with which to torment you later?”

Honestly, I was pretty proud of myself. I didn’t know I was such a grown up.

Because inside, I was doing a pretty epic victory dance, knowing that that one harrible teacher had helped me become an awesome teacher that the students now preferred.

Petty? Oh, heck yes. Do I care? Nope. Not even a little.

11 thoughts on “The Following Makes Me Sound Like a Horrible Person…

  1. allthoughtswork says:

    I was born with an organ defect that caused a lot of illness and suffering. My first grade teacher sat me down in the nurse’s office one day and lectured me on how shameful I was acting, not being more mature. I felt humiliated and worthless. She wasn’t aware of the actual medical problem then, none of us were, but she treated me like lint nonetheless.

    I went through five more years of hell before having major corrective surgery in the sixth grade. She sent me a get well card in the hospital. No apology, no words of support, just a trite note. I threw it away as soon as I could get away with it.

    I don’t know what the hell that woman was thinking when she continued to contact my parents over the years to ask about me. Apparently, unbeknownst to me, she and I had the same birthday and that, in her mind, bonded us as buddies for life.

    I’m 45 now. She’ll be dead soon. Hopefully.

    Like

  2. daniellecarver says:

    I can’t remember one that I hated, but I do remember two that everyone else hated, but I liked because when I would do my mischevious acts, they always believed me over everyone else! Paid off to be a model student 95% of the time!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Veronica says:

    In high school, my political science teacher was the worst. It was in first period and I was always late to class. She grilled me for being late in a condescending way. I hated her so much. I commend you for being so grown up about it. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. mamalinda1905 says:

    Back when dirt was new, I had a teacher who scared the bejeebers out of me! He threw kids down the hall and screamed like a crazy man. Sweat ran down my sides and I felt l I me throwing up and I was terrified. Unfortunately he taught math, my weakest subject after that. Trauma and drama from the sixties, baby girl. I swore NEVER to be anything like him when I was a teacher.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. izzyb1103 says:

    I had this in teacher who one minute he would be mad as heck at you and the next he would be smiling and cracking a joke. One time we did this prodject in groups and after we presented it he only pointed out the bad parts and the. In parent teacher conference night he told my mom that my group did the best in the class.

    Liked by 2 people

    • annieemmy says:

      Ha! I had a teacher like that when I was in 5th grade… and I was such a serious kid at the time, that I could NOT figure out when he was teasing and when he was serious. It caused me some serious anxiety since I hadn’t yet developed my own sarcastic sense of humor yet. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Whatcha Thinkin'?

