Babysitting Gig

I have to babysit 17 third graders this afternoon.

I would call it “subbing” but since I’m only there for two hours, I don’t think a whole lot of teaching will be done. Instead, we’ll probably read through a “Weekly Reader”, work on cursive, and I’ll try to keep the boys from ending up in a hog-pile in the middle of the classroom floor. That’s not subbing… that’s babysitting. But the pay is decent, so I’ll take it.

I’m not even going to dress in my trademark “teacher chic”. (Yes, there is such a thing and I invented it, so there.) Instead I’ll just wear my skinny jeans, boots, and a boat neck “favorite tee” from GAP. It really doesn’t matter if I’m only there for two hours anyway. However, I will be wearing contacts and eye makeup for the first time in… a month, maybe? I figure if I ease into it and take it off as soon as I get home, my skin can’t completely flip out and wage an all-out holy war on me. We’ll see.

But 2 Hours? You know how fast 2 hours goes when you’re in a classroom? If I blink, I’ll miss it. Why am I even bothering?

Oh… money… that’s right.

3 thoughts on “Babysitting Gig

Whatcha Thinkin'?

