First World Problems Are Reason Enough to Be Grateful

So, from the sounds of it, the entire blogosphere is ready to implode with frustration and depression over this ridiculously long winter.

So. Flippin’. Long.

I, for one, should be used to this level of cold and snow. Winters are always ridiculously long here. It’s only February, which means there’s still a good two months of winter left. All of March and most of April are usually snowy, icy, bitter, and gross. (YAY! I have so much to look forward to! And a good deal of psychoanalyzing to get through to figure out why I still live here, and why I always expect different results. Isn’t that the definition of insanity?)

Anyway, yesterday was particularly brutal. Not just for the cold, but for the level of “Meh” it brought with it. As in, “Meh… I don’t even care anymore.” or “Meh. What does it matter anyway?” or “Meh. You’re a dumbass, and I don’t even have the gumption to point it out to you.” By the end of the day, I was all..

(On a totally unrelated topic, I miss Bill. I think we all miss Bill a little bit…)

ANYWAY, in terms of first-world problems, my day had been pretty crappy.

  • TWO subbing jobs were cancelled yesterday. TWO jobs with my absolute favorite class in the entire world. I haven’t seen those kiddos since November. UGH…
  • It was the 5th day in a row of sub-zero temps and bitter wind-chills, making it a balmy -30° Fahrenheit out there. WHAT THE HELL?! Ain’t nobody got patience for this crap…
  • The wind also brought snow with it, making the snow drifts quite a bit deeper than the day before. Which pretty much means we will have snow until JUNE.
  • My coffee date with my bestie was cancelled… for the 3rd time. She’s stuck in the boonies, unable to bi-pass her driveway because of broken pipes and a great deal of flooding. Or so she says…
  • Doing my own taxes is hard.
  • I burned my coffee.
  • Sir Winston coughed up a hairball the size of Cincinnati… right after eating…

*sigh*

But the more I wallowed in my patheticness (You know what? I officially declare that a word. Deal with it.), the more I realized just how pitiful I was being. I mean… seriously, Annie? You suck. Because this is normal life! Look around you! Look at what you have! Look at how much worse it could be! I mean… for starters…

  • You have use of all your limbs, mental faculties, and senses.
  • You have a warm home and roof over your head.
  • You have food to eat.
  • You have friends and family that care about you.
  • You have a job. (Sort of. If people would just TAKE SOME TIME OFF…)
  • You have running water and electricity and heat. (Not everyone has that…)
  • You aren’t at risk for being maimed or murdered because of your religious or political ideologies.
  • You have money to pay bills and have fun and give back.
  • You have time and money and energy for life’s little luxuries.

WHAT ARE YOU COMPLAINING ABOUT?!

I came across this blog post the other day reminding me that “Not being grateful is not an option.” That pretty much sums it up. In the grand scheme of things, do you know how much we have to be thankful for? Things we take for granted on a daily basis? Things we don’t even realize are a privilege?  We have so much and we’re sitting around wallowing in self-pity. Gross. Sometimes I’m embarrassed by myself.

SO… like it tells us in Proverbs 17:22…

A joyful heart is good medicine,
But a broken spirit dries up the bones.

Let’s be thankful for what we have. Giving thanks brings joy. Having joy brings life.

What do you have to be thankful for today?

Gif Source: i.imgur.com
6 thoughts on “First World Problems Are Reason Enough to Be Grateful

  1. mamalisa4 says:

    LOL You are too funny, but so, so right!! We all complain about our first world problems, yet there are people without running water! Running Water people!! I appreciate your gratitude and its a great reminder to us all, especially when all I have been doing lately is whining 😦
    But No More!! Gratitude, I have working limbs, friends and a blog 🙂
    Great Post!! Stay warm!!

    Liked by 1 person

Whatcha Thinkin'?

