The Trouble With Being Beautiful… *sigh*

For as long as I can remember I’ve had ridiculously sensitive skin.

And by sensitive, I mean of the sparkly vampire variety. And by the sparkly vampire variety, I mean if I were hit by a ray of light stronger than a 40 watt incandescent bulb, I would instantly be covered in boils. And that’s only a slight exaggeration.

In the summertime, if I do not slather sunscreen with an SPF of 60 or higher all over my pasty white body, within 20 minutes I will break out in bright, red, itchy hives. Sometimes those bright, red, itchy hives turn into an eczema flare up. And then the fun really starts. Even in the dead of winter, when there is no sunlight to be found, the dry air does a number on my skin, and I am forced to continuously lather moisturizers all over myself just to keep my skin calm and not inadvertently induce a flareup.

SO, when people compliment me on my beautiful porcelain complexion, I smile, nod, and think to myself, “Oh, you have no idea the lengths I go to to maintain this, sister.”

I kind of hate it. I always wanted to be one of these girls who could go to the tanning salon and add some sun-kissed perfection to their already perfect olive complexion. Instead I’m stuck in some pasty-white, sunlight-averse, ginger’s body, but I don’t even get the benefit of having a beautiful shock of copper-colored hair. How is that fair?! It’s not. It’s just not.

Anyway… there is a point to all of this… and the point is this…

Well, I can’t really get to the point until I explain a little further so just chill and be patient. I’m getting there. I’d get there a lot faster if you’d stop interrupting me but… whatever.

So, this sensitive skin which has been the bane of my existence since… forever… has recently progressed to affect even my eyes. As in, now, thanks to a mysterious turn of events, I am unable to wear any kind of eye makeup what-so-ever without the skin around my eyes turning red, itchy, swollen and if I scratch too much, flaky. It’s just… you know… um…

NOT FAIR?!

DUDES. My eyes are pretty much my best feature, and now I’m forced to wear my nerdy, librarian glasses (which are totally hot by the way, but still…) just to avoid putting makeup on and causing my skin to totally and completely FREAK OUT.

I mean… WHAT?! Beautiful, porcelain skin, my ass. Try ridiculously high-maintenance, pain in the ass, skin. Which… just sounds odd so let’s not call it that but… SERIOUSLY?

*sigh*

Okay, so my point is…

I really miss being able to put on makeup and not having to cover up my face with my nerdy, librarian glasses (which are still totally hot by the way…).  Which is why I am asking for advice… help… magic potions… pretty much anything that will help me remedy this problem. Are there types of makeup out there that work really well with über sensitive skin? Are there lotions, creams and moisturizers that work wonders on sensitive skin? (I swear I’ve tried them all, but I’m open to any and all suggestions…) Are there home remedies and quick fixes that you swear by and are willing to share with little ol’ me? Seriously, guys, I need some help here before I tear my skin completely off. So, let me know.

In the meantime, I’m going to slather some more cream around my eyes. I mean, eventually something’s gotta work… right?

Gif Source: figsoup.tumblr.com
10 thoughts on “The Trouble With Being Beautiful… *sigh*

  1. Jana says:

    I’m…lucky, maybe? My skin usually doesn’t give me trouble – except for my chest, which breaks out into seriously red hives whenever I get highly emotional. At one point, my boss drew me aside and asked if I needed to go to the hospital. However, I also have trouble with my eyes, but not until about 5pm – so it’s a race home so I can wash the makeup off and put on my jammies. Just a thought – have you heard of oil cleansing? Instead of using water, you use oil (a lot of people use coconut oil – but it makes some skin flaky. I use olive oil or Neutrogena Sesame Oil (I love the scent). Basically, you slather it on and then wipe it off – but some of the oil stays to moisturize your skin. Some people also use an apple cider vinegar (raw, unfiltered) homemade toner. The premise is to stop using commercial products that are so full of chemicals that they might be hurting the skin instead of helping it. I like the results so far!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. FitsofWit says:

    It seems you and I share skin probz.

    For my face I use Aveda Botanical Kinetics http://www.aveda.com/products/7573/Collections/botanical-kineticsTM–for-dry-skin/index.tmpl
    It’s perfect for sensitive/ dry skin and is all natural. Also smells pretty good, too. It’s a bit pricey but one bottle lasts me a few months.

    I just use good ol’ Eucerin Calming Cream for my body. I’ve tried others but nothing compares for my Voldemort snake skin.

    Oh and my eyes are also ALWAYS SO DRY. My husband tells me to carry eye drops around with me but I am so paranoid when inserting eye drops I usually spill half the bottle on my face before I get a molecular bit of relief into my eye. So I guess for your eyes I’d just say drink water which I know everyone says but hey, it’s that or devil (eye) drops.

    God speed.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rookienotes says:

    Does your blog have a facebook page? I’m already following you on instagram. My blogs facebook is facebook.com/rookienotes. I would lovvvvve it if you liked it. Let’s stay connected!!!

    Like

    • annieemmy says:

      Wait… I have an Instagram account? Oh… Twitter. I think you mean Twitter. I’m not on Facebook at the moment, but I’m planning on setting up a page through my blog, so once I do, I will TOTALLY look you up. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Whatcha Thinkin'?

