Fiction or Non-Fiction?

Have you ever heard of someone being an avid fan of non-fiction? Because, it turns out, I totally am. The only kinds of books I find myself gravitating towards in the bookstore, in the library, or on Amazon, are in the non-fiction section. What’s up with that? Seriously, who reads non-fiction books besides intellectual, pompous ass professor types with an affinity for tweed suits and elbow patches? Is this what I have become?!

I used to read a lot more fiction than I do now. I still occasionally pick up a good thriller from time to time. But, the older I get the less able I am to suspend my disbelief while reading fiction books. Even when it’s realistic fiction… I just can’t get emotionally involved with the characters… because they’re not real… and I don’t care. Even the books I formerly adored I can no longer get through because, quite frankly, Jane Eyre, I’m just not buying it.

What is wrong with me? Who doesn’t like to get lost in the fanciful adventures of far away lands? Who doesn’t like to engage in a little old fashioned make-believe from time to time?

Me, apparently.

I’m much more likely to get swept up in the memoirs,biographies, historical accounts, celebrity tell-alls, and journalistic expose´s that are found in non-fiction than I am to get suckered into the latest tales of vampires, elves, alternate realities, corrupt make-believe politicians and everyday heroes found in fiction.

I just don’t buy into it. Plus, it’s much more fun to read about real people, real events, real places and real ideas. There’s still so much to learn! Why waste a good time reading on make-believe bologna?

*GASP!*

Oh, no she didn’t! (Oh, yes I did…) I kid. No matter what type of reading you prefer, it’s never bologna. But surely there must be people out there like me… non-fiction geeks? Yes?

So which do you prefer? Fiction or non-fiction? Why? And which genres do you enjoy? Curious minds want to know…

Now, if you’ll excuse me I have to get back to my Scientology book – “The story of America’s most secretive religion”. Dun, dun, DUN! (It’s just starting to get good…)

2 thoughts on “Fiction or Non-Fiction?

  1. mkoshea says:

    What’s strange is I used to love to read fiction and almost never read non-fiction but a few years ago I just switched and have been reading almost exclusively non-fiction ever since. It might be about where you’re at in life, I’m not sure. I keep waiting for the desire to read some more fiction to come back. Maybe one day.

    Liked by 1 person

Whatcha Thinkin'?

