So… how ’bout that winter, huh?

Um… I don’t want to freak anybody out but there’s a good possibility that the winter doldrums are just now hitting me full-force and… IT’S NOT EVEN FEBRUARY.

This is not good. Seeing as winter typically lasts through mid-April around here (and sometimes longer), the fact that the doldrums are hitting me this early does not bode well.

Maybe it’s the fact that we just got another 4 inches of snow and it’s still snowing. Maybe it’s because I didn’t have a subbing job at ALL last week (which is nobody’s fault but my own), and I’m starting to go a bit stir crazy. Maybe it’s due to the fact that on weeks when I don’t have subbing jobs, my social interactions are limited to coffee dates once a week and cuddles with my cat. But whatever the reason, I’m “this close” (you can’t see me, but I’m holding my thumb and pointer finger precariously close to one another in order to illustrate my point) to completely flipping out.

So, in order to prevent myself from hurling my body off a really tall building, I’ve decided to make a list of the things that are going to help me get through this winter. Because… you know… without them, I may just hurl my body off a really tall building.

Here they are, in no particular order:

  • The Good Wife. If I haven’t made myself clear before, let me do so now. There are times when The Good Wife is the only thing I look forward to all week. Sometimes, it’s the one thing I live for. My love for this show burns hotter than a thousand burning suns. Because it is fantastic. And funny. And brilliantly written. And Cary is hot.

  • The new Twitter account for Kensington Palace. Squeeeee! (Why yes, I did just make the sound a thirteen year old girl makes when One Direction is mentioned. Thank you for noticing.) I realize Will, Kate and Harry are not all huddled around the palace laptop trying to come up with funny and creative things to tweet, but in my head, they totally are. And isn’t that what matters? Seriously, don’t ruin the fantasy for me, okay?
  • The Mentalist. Unlike The Good Wife, this show is not nearly as fantastic, funny, or brilliantly written. But Patrick is just so dang pretty that it doesn’t even matter. Plus, the new story line between Lisbon and Jane is nearly as epic as Ross and Rachel.

  •  My ongoing love affair with these:

Converse_Chuck_Taylor_All_Star_Low_Top_Claret_Red_Canvas_Shoes

And the realization that in just a few short months, I will be reunited with them as we stroll along familiar lanes that are not snow-packed and covered with murderous ice. (Yes, I know the ice isn’t out to get me… even though it is. IT TOTALLY IS.) Don’t tell the other two pairs that I’m in the market for two more pairs. They’re easily offended and quite jealous. I suppose I should stop at two pairs but… the heart wants what it wants. Don’t judge me.

  • This book:

index

Because if you know anything about me, you know I will be totally geeking out as I read this under the covers with my flashlight on all winter long.

Sooo… yeah. I don’t know what any of this means, but if my above selections are any indication, I should just get it over with and hurl myself off a tall building now.

I swear I’m not as lame as I seem…

Except that I totally am.

And I’m totally nailing it.

You so want to be me when you grow up.

2 thoughts on “So… how ’bout that winter, huh?

  1. annieemmy says:

    See, I’m just not a “winter” kind of girl. The frigid temperatures and my total lack of athletic prowess make the aforementioned activities detrimental to my mental health and well being. 🙂 I’d much rather curl up with a book or a good TV show. But it’s true… getting out more would make the winter go by much more quickly. I’ll think on that while I finish up this latest book. 😉

    Like

  2. Chris Pollock Art says:

    Tired of long winters? Get out and play in the snow! Ski, snowboard, skate, whatever, it keeps you warm and winters short! There are lots people to socialize with too! Plus there are loads of seasonal jobs at winter resorts for extra cash and free passes. Might even be more fun than subbing!

    Liked by 1 person

Whatcha Thinkin'?

