Reminders

I love teaching.

Yes, there are days… almost constantly… where I want to scream and cry and stomp my feet because no one is listening to me. Times when I want to throttle a child. Moments of sheer terror when I don’t have a concrete plan, and I’m afraid all hell will break loose at any moment. Situations where I just don’t have an answer. Times when I come home and heave a sigh of relief, realizing that I’ve been holding my breath all day long, waiting for 16 more fires to simultaneously ignite just so I can put them out.

But I wouldn’t trade it for anything. Because all those moments can’t compare to seeing a child’s face light up once they “get it”, hearing the kids laugh at you when you act silly with them, or comforting a child just because they need a hug and reassurance that it’s going to be okay.

Some days I don’t know how I’m going to make it through…

And then they remind me why I’m there.

Whatcha Thinkin'?

