The Trouble With Run-On Sentences

The trouble with run-on sentences is that a reader doesn’t know where one thought ends and another begins even the most intelligent can have a difficult time trying to decipher the thoughts the writer is conveying when absolutely no punctuation is used I hope you people know how much it is killing me to write this post with absolutely no punctuation it’s not right peeps when I come across run on sentences like this one on a blog it first requires me to read through it once to make a rough translation and then read through it a second time to actually digest what the writer has written who has time to read through blog posts twice certainly not me oh my gosh there should totally be a question mark there and I totally dismissed it I am not built for this type of punctuational pandemonium nothing in this post even makes sense because I’m not using any punctuation OH MY GOOD GRIEF who can write like this how hard is it to use 4th grade level punctuation just insert a period or even a comma every now and then what is it going to ruin your train of thought to put in some punctuation please punctuation only needs to be used every few words or so you don’t have time to add a period or a comma who are you certainly you’re not so lazy that you don’t have time to stretch your stubby fingers to the punctuation keys if you are someone who feels it unnecessary to use proper punctuation I kind of loathe you because I cannot understand what you are saying just stop it okay just stop it!

For those of you who have brains like mine, and were unable to get through that rant without poking your left eye out, this is what I actually said:

The trouble with run-on sentences is that a reader doesn’t know where one thought ends and another begins. Even the most intelligent can have a difficult time trying to decipher the thoughts the writer is conveying when absolutely no punctuation is used. (I hope you people know how much it is killing me to write this post with absolutely no punctuation. It’s not right, peeps.) When I come across run-on sentences like this one on a blog, it first requires me to read through it once to make a rough translation, and then read through it a second time to actually digest what the writer has written. Who has time to read through blog posts twice?! Certainly not me. (Oh my gosh, there should totally be a question mark there and I totally dismissed it. I am not built for this type of punctuational pandemonium. Nothing in this post even makes sense because I’m not using any punctuation. OH MY GOOD GRIEF. Who can write like this?!) How hard is it to use 4th grade level punctuation? Just insert a period or even a comma every now and then. What, is it going to ruin your train of thought to put in some punctuation? Please. Punctuation only needs to be used every few words or so. You don’t have time to add a period or a comma? Who are you? Certainly, you’re not so lazy that you don’t have time to stretch your stubby fingers to the punctuation keys. If you are someone who feels it unnecessary to use proper punctuation, I kind of loathe you because I cannot understand what you are saying. Just stop it, okay? Just stop it!

Whatcha Thinkin'?

