Annie’s Top Children’s Books

So, a while ago I came across this blogger who’s not only witty and thoughtful, but she loves children’s books as much as I do. So, she made a list of her favorite ones.

Because I loved this idea so much and because I’m a big ol’ unoriginal copy cat, I’m stealing her idea and making a list of my own. Because that’s how I roll. I suggest you all make a list too because… well, because it’s fun. And children’s books are awesome.

Here we go… In no particular order…

The Story of FerdinandThe Story of Ferdinand by Munro Leaf: Oh, how I adore this story. A bull who would rather wander through meadows and smell the flowers than fight? Adorable. Plus, the black and white illustrations are top notch.

The Little HouseThe Little House by Virginia Lee Burton: Hi. Have you not read this? What is the matter with you? Best. Book. Ever. It tells the story of a little house (who knew) nestled quietly in the country-side, who is soon over-taken by big-city progress. Don’t worry, it has a happy ending.

The Day the Crayons QuitThe Day the Crayons Quit By Drew Daywalt: This? Is a ridiculously fun book. The crayons, feeling under-appreciated and under-utilized go on strike. It perfectly captures the personality and attitude of each of the crayons.

Big PlansBig Plans by Bob Shea, illustrated by Lane Smith: Okay, so it’s pretty much a given that I will love any book that Lane Smith is associated with. As a teacher, I love reading this to my kiddos to teach them that it’s okay to dream big. Plus, the line, “I got big plans, big plans I say!” will become your classroom mantra for the entirety of the year.

It's a BookIt’s a Book by Lane Smith: Did I mention I love Lane Smith? Because I do. I adore him. Before we go any further… here’s a disclaimer:  DISCLAIMER: This is NOT a children’s book. See what I did there? So, when you bring this to class to read to your kiddos, don’t say I didn’t warn you. A commentary on the digital age, it has a delightfully funny twist at the end that isn’t exactly appropriate for kids. Because they will go home and tell their parents that you said a bad word. However, the word isn’t so bad that it wouldn’t be a terrifically fun book to read to your high school students to teach them the significance of print in the digital age. Or heck, just buy it to read to yourself. That’s what I did.

How the Grinch Stole Christmas

How the Grinch Stole Christmas by Dr. Seuss: Seriously, who doesn’t love Dr. Seuss? (If you say you don’t love Dr. Seuss, I will hunt you down. That’s like a crime against humanity. You know that, right?) Best Christmas book ever. Not only is it funny and super fun to read, but it truly captures what Christmas is all about.

The LoraxThe Lorax by Dr. Seuss: Again, Dr. Seuss. Because I love him. I loooooove this book mainly because it is terrifically fun to read aloud with the rhyming schemes and made up words. Plus is had a good message. What’s not to love?

Okay, what is that… seven? Okay, so because I’m getting lazy, I’m just going to list the other ones… complete with links to the Barne’s & Nobel website where you can find them. (The pictures of the books above will bring you there too. You’re welcome.)

And about a zillion more I don’t have the energy to list right now. So, what do you think? What did I miss? What are your favorites? Let me know.

One thought on “Annie’s Top Children’s Books

Whatcha Thinkin'?

