Reverse SAD

Have you guys seen this article?

“Standard Time Starts, And The Summer Haters Celebrate”

This is so me. This is my life in a nutshell. And now they’re telling me I’m not crazy? That there are people out there just like me? They’re actually validating my behavior? And that there’s a name for it? (A totally made up name, but a name none-the-less.) REVERSE SAD. Seriously, my coolness factor just jumped at least 10 notches. I actually have a “condition”. How cool am I?

I’ve never understood people that would actually get angry at me (And I mean, legitimately angry. Not just “joking angry”. But real live, “I hate you and all you stand for” kind of anger.) for rejoicing in a rainy day, or getting excited about snow, or thinking there was nothing better than a dreary, gray, out-right cold, day. And on the opposite side, I would get angry-angry at people for loving the 25th hot, sunny day in a row, rejoicing in the “beautiful weather”, the heat index and actually suggesting that I should get out and “enjoy it”. Barf. All I wanted was this:

This? This is bliss.

This? This is bliss.

And all I was getting was this:

Kill me. Kill me now.

Kill me. Kill me now.

All. Summer. Long.

It. Was. Torture.

I would actually walk around the house during those summer months grumpy and pissed off because we had another hot, sunny day. By the time August rolled around, I was constantly sweaty and the next person who said, “Beautiful day, isn’t it?” to me had an excellent chance of being shot.

I hated it. I hate summer. Give me October and November weather year round (with maybe a month or two of May) and I would be a happy girl.

I’m not sure how this happened, and I’m not sure what’s wrong with me. I’m just glad I have a name for my condition now. Oh, and that it’s November.

2 thoughts on “Reverse SAD

Whatcha Thinkin'?

