Crazy little thing called spousal support…

I find it hysterically funny that my ex ass hat can be so completely detached and nonchalant about our current situation until and unless it affects his pocket book. Funny I never noticed this lovely little trait of his before.

I think it never occurred to him that he might owe me spousal support.

I shouldn’t laugh or gloat, but there’s a part of me that’s like, “Ha! Take that, sucker. You stupid little worm. Didn’t think of THAT before you started this whole ‘I’m not happy and I need to find myself… with another woman’ crap, did you?”

To be perfectly honest, I had no intention of seeking spousal support because I intended to have found a new job by now. But, considering the fact that I have not yet found a new job, my current insurance is days away from expiring and I still have bills to pay… um, yeah, I’m probably going to ask for some spousal support.

When this first came up he was both shocked and alarmed that I might actually check the box that said “Yes”. How could I?! Didn’t I know money was tight for him already?! I have a good chunk of change in the bank, why don’t I just live off that?! (Um, dear tight-fisted dumbass… it’s called “savings” for a reason.) I think he thinks I’m just doing it to get back at him. Honestly, I have better things to do than plot lame-ass ways of getting back at him. The truth is, I may need some spousal support for the time being. I’m sorry. I will feel guilty later, I promise. But you should have thought of all this before you got yourself into this situation.

Dumbass.

Furthermore, there is a part of me that now really appreciates the fact that I was making more money than he was when we were married. (Um, can I get a “I am woman, hear me roar”?) Not that he would have admitted that. But now that I’m not there… well, he’s feeling the effects of it.

What’s that old saying again? The way to a man’s heart is through his pocket book?

Yeah. That.

2 thoughts on “Crazy little thing called spousal support…

  1. notesfromthebathroomfloor says:

    Of course he’s upset!. How could you do anything other than float away into the sunset, waving farewell to him with a smile? Mmm hmm.

    P.S. — Thanks for listing me in your blogroll! I will be sure to return the favor (and check out the blogs on your list) as soon as I have to time to figure out the bloggy gadgets. How do you work this blog machine thingie?. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Whatcha Thinkin'?

