Stupid Mug

Stupid mug.

Stupid mug.

I hate this mug.

My sister purposely purchased it for me because of that reason. Because I would hate it. Because we like to buy ridiculous items the other person will hate and then laugh about it. Now that I think about it… my sister and I have a relatively weird relationship.

Anyway, she saw it at the dollar store (which, for being a dollar store, has some really fun, cutesy, Target-y things you would never expect to see at a dollar store. This makes myself, my mom and my sister oddly excited and happy. I mean, it’s a dollar store… not the new J. Crew catalog…) and knew she had to get it for me because I would hate it. Which I did. Which made her happy. And then we laughed. (Yeah. Our relationship is kinda weird.)

Anyway, she knew the phrase would drive me up the wall. “Dance as though no one is watching. Love beyond words. Sing as though no one can hear you.”

BLAR. Pretty much the worst and most over-used phrase ever. It’s so horribly cliched, it’s enough to make me… well… vomit.

It’s right up there with these little gems.

  • Love and Laughter live here.
  • Live every moment. Laugh every day. Love beyond words.
  • Live simply. Laugh often. Love deeply.
  • Always kiss me goodnight.
  • All because two people fell in love.
  • A day without laughter is a day wasted.
  • Live well. Laugh often. Love much. (Do you sense a theme here, or is that just me?)
  • Cherish yesterday. Dream tomorrow. Live today.
  • Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you’ll land among the stars.
  • Be the change you wish to see in the world.
  • Excuse the mess. The children are making memories.
  • Life is not measured by the breaths we take but by the moments that take our breath away.
  • Life is a journey, not a destination.

And my all time personal favorite? (i.e. The one I abhor with the passion of a million burning hell fires?)

  • Life is not about waiting for the storm to pass. It’s about learning to dance in the rain.

ARGH! Cliches drive me crazy. I hate them. I hate how they’re plastered all over every mug, journal cover, picture frame, note pad, pot holder, candle holder, bracelet, key chain, knick-knack, trinket, ornament, and tchotchke. Basically, anything you really don’t need and will never use but Hallmark has convinced you will make a great gift for someone else, has one or more of the above phrases on it. And now we’re even plastering them on our walls. Our walls. With decals. And cheesy sketches of hearts or trees or curly-cue leaves. They are everywhere. It’s enough to make me want to gouge my eyes out with a wooden spoon. And the marketing geniuses behind this scheme have the audacity to label them as “inspirational quotes”. Inspirational? Try tired, cliched and just plain stupid. Basically, if it sounds like it could come out of any mother’s-in-law mouth thinly disguised as cutesy words of wisdom… it’s not worth embroidering on a pillow. Or mass produced on every item ever created by man. Because it’s stupid.

I mean… why can’t people be more original? We get it already. It’s all about laughter and love. We should love and laugh a lot. Life is about loving and laughing. And dreaming. And dreaming about laughter and love. And laughing about dreams and love. And loving laughter and dreams. And life. And living lots of life. With laughter and love. And dreams. And change. And memories. And journeys. And moments. And any other sappy, stupid, Hallmark invented phrase I may have missed.

Yeah. You could say I hate this mug.

 

5 thoughts on “Stupid Mug

Whatcha Thinkin'?

